RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour teams continue to make a positive difference – Kaieteur News

RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour teams continue to make a positive difference

RHTYSC Assistant Secretary / CEO Simon Naidu (right) handing over a gift to Dr. Cecil Beharry President Rose Hall Canje CC.

Kaieteur News – Roseb Town’s Rosebolt First Division team Rose Hall is widely regarded as one of the best first division team in Guyana and for the past two years has dominated the game in Ancient County. The 2019 team won all the first division tournaments in Ancient County, while the RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour Under21 won the 2019 delayed Under 21 tournaments after defeating arch-rivals Albion by seven wickets in early March.
The two teams under the Management of Organizing Secretary Rabindranauth Kissoonlall and Assistant Secretary / CEO Simon Naidu continue to make a positive difference as part of their personal development program. One of the requirements of being a member of the Rose Hall Youth and Town Sports Club is that all members will be involved in social work and community development to make a positive difference in the lives of others.
The two teams last Tuesday completed the club’s 250th activity for 2021 by handing over three special prizes for holding a fundraising raffle by the Rose Hall Canje Cricket Team. The prizes were electric mixer, electric iron and electric kettle.
RH Canje Community Center Cricket Club is led by Dr. Cecil Beharry participates in all tournaments organized by the vibrant Berbice Cricket Board. In accepting the donation, Dr. Beharry that the club sometimes finds it difficult to play in all the tournaments due to the high cost of balls and transportation. The Club, revealed plays in the Under13, Under15, Under17, Under19, Under21, Second Division, Internal Zone and First Division. In addition, the CCMNR has several active female cricketers playing in the New Amsterdam / Canje Zone team.
Beharry expressed his gratitude to the Namilco Thunderbolt teams for their assistance. He noted that his club receives a wide range of support from the club and the Berbice Cricket Board which includes score books, catch cribs, cricket balls, colored uniforms, cricket gears, educational materials, bikes and trophies amongst others.
Secretary / CEO Hilbert Foster who is also President of the Berbice Cricket Board noted the Namilco Thunderbolt Flour teams effort in assisting their peers and noted that the RHTYSC firmly believes in assisting other clubs. This aims to help every youngster in the county achieve their dream of becoming a professional cricketer. Foster also revealed that in 2021 the team donated over $ 1M worth of items to Berbice clubs including Cricket balls, sticks, gears, scorebooks and trophies among others.
Both teams would also introduce bikes to less fortunate teens in early May, while they also plan to distribute hundreds of food hampers for Mothers and Fathers Sunday in May and June respectively. The teams recently distributed $ 300,000 worth of kites across Guyana. Last year, ten RHTYSC cricket teams distributed over ten thousand food hampers in 2020 as part of their joint Covid-19 response program.
Members of the Namilco Thunderbolt Flour RHT team include Kevin Sinclair, Kevlon Anderson, Royston Crandon, Clinton Pestano, Shemaine Campbelle, Sheneta Grimmond, Shabika Gajnabi, Junior Sinclair, Eon Hooper, Jason Sinclair, Delbert Hicks, Khemraj Mahadeo, Keon Sinclair, Keith Simpson and Shawn Pereira.